Karting Shoot-out News

Monday, October 16, 2006 LAKEVILLE, Conn. – Skip Barber Racing School LLC, organizer of the largest and single most important event for karters transitioning to racecars – the Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shoot-out – today announced the names of 12 karters who, based on their 2006 accomplishments, have won scholarship invitations to this year’s Karting Shoot-out, January 12-15, 2007, at Sebring International Raceway.

This elite group of 12 will join 38 other karters to try to earn additional sponsorship dollars to compete in one of the four Skip Barber Regional Race Series and/or the Skip Barber National Presented by RACER. These Skip Barber championships are now the primary steppingstone for drivers climbing the ranks into FF2000, Star Mazda and Champ Car Atlantic.

‘‘We are proud to play such an important role on the American motorsports ladder by helping these talented young drivers advance to even greater success,’’ said Skip Barber President George Ayres.

Previous Scholarship Shoot-out entrants and/or winners include Champ Car standout A.J. Allmendinger, Scott Speed (the only American driver in Formula 1), Patrick Long, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Phil Giebler and numerous others who have gone on to post significant achievements in the world of racing.

By virtue of being selected, each of the 12 talented drivers has been awarded a scholarship covering the value of the Shoot-out and a Skip Barber Three Day Racing School, the completion of which is required to be eligible to enter the Shoot-out.

More than $100,000 will be awarded at the 10th Annual Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shoot-out. The largest award is a paid season in the Skip Barber National Presented by RACER, worth approximately $40,000.

The January Shoot-out will also include38 other top karters who have entered by virtue of having applied for the Shoot-out and then graduated from a Skip Barber Racing School this year (the application/eligibility deadline is December 31). These karters will also receive partial scholarships to attend the Shoot-out.

The Elite 12 have all demonstrated their considerable skills throughout 2006 in the Snap-On Stars of Karting Presented by the IRL series (SoK) and/or the WKA championships. Their names and 2006 accomplishments are as follows:

Brandon Bealer, 17, Coal Valley, Ill. (second, WKA ICA Mfg. Cup)

Gary Carlton, 20, Marysville, Calif. (first, SoK ICC-West)

Tyler Dueck, 20, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada (SoK ICA race winner)

Curtis Fox, 16, Bradford, Ont., Canada (second, WKA ICC Mfg. Cup; Ont. ICC champion)

Chris Keller, 18, Green Brook, N.J. (first, WKA ICA Mfg. Cup)

Chris Larson, 21, Trinity, Fla. (second, SoK ICA-East; WKA ICA race winner)

Caleb Loniewski, 20, Michigan City, Ind. (third, SoK ICA-East; New Castle SoK ICA winner)

Timmy Megenbier, 15, Melrose Park, Ill. (WKA/Rotax/SoK race winner)

Eric Morrow, 17, Indianapolis, Ind. (fourth, SoK ICA-East; Rock Island ICA winner)

Cory Pollock, 18, Murrieta, Calif. (seventh, SoK ICA-West)

Brett Smrz, 15, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho (first, SoK JICA-East; first, SoK JICA-West)

Nicholas Tonkin, 17, Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada (second, SoK ICA-West)

Skip Barber Staff

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.