Skip Barber Racing Dominates Rolex 24 Qualifying

Friday, January 25, 2008

Oz Negri and Mark Patterson (l.) took pole for the Rolex 24, while A.J. Allmendinger, Burt Frisselle, Ian James and John Pew will start alongside.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – In qualifying for the Rolex 24 at Daytona, every team that qualified in the top 10 has at least one (and in many cases, two or more) Skip Barber drivers (graduates and/or instructors) on the team.

On pole is Oz Negri, Mark Patterson, Graham Rahal and Justin Wilson in the #60 Riley-Ford. Alongside is A.J. Allmendinger, Burt Frisselle, Ian James and John Pew. Row two is Ryan Hunter-Reay, Jim Matthews, Marc Goosens and Johnny O’Connel next to Wayne Taylor, Ricky Taylor and Michael Valiante.

Row three has Brian Frisselle, Andrew Ranger, Mark Wilkins and Colin Braun, next to Juan Pablo Montoya, Memo Rojas, Dario Franchitti and Scott Pruett. In row four is David Donohue, Darren Law and Buddy Rice, starting next to Milka Duno, Ryan Dalziel, Tomas Enge and Harold Primat. And in the fifth row there’s Matt Plumb, Quentin Wahl and Paddy Shovlin, inside of Salvador Duran, Scott Dixon, Alex Lloyd and Dan Wheldon.
Oh, and for the record, qualifying 11th was the car of Jon Fogarty, Alex Gurney, Jimmie Johnson and Jimmy Vasser.

Click on this link for the full starting grid…

Skip Barber-trained drivers in bold

Rick Roso

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.