Skip Barber National at Road America: Q1

Friday, August 08, 2008

Mazda organized a photo shoot at the end of the day Thursday to capture every driver in either a Mazda-sponsored series or driving a Mazda-powered race car this weekend at Road America. About 90 of the 103 drivers from Speed W.C., the Skip Barber National, Mazda MX-5 Cup, Star Mazda, Atlantic and ALMS were able to make it, including 2007 SBN champion Joel Miller (sitting on his #20 Star Mazda), Connor De Phillippi, this year’s Skip Barber Karting Shoot-out winner (on his #35 SBF2000), and Gerardo Bonilla, the 2005 SBN champ, kneeling in front of his LMP2 Lola-Mazda.

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – At Road America, BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda points leader Josef Newgarden was quickest in morning practice, then in the afternoon qualifying session for race one he took pole by 3/10s of a second over Stevan McAleer, currently sixth in points. Felipe Polehtto, who had lead the SBN points until rounds seven and eight at Barber Park, will start fifth.

The full starting grid/qualifying times for Saturday race one…

Thursday, July 7, qualifying/start positions for Saturday race 1
BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda, Rounds 9/10 of 14
Road America, 4.0-mile, 14-turn road course

1. Josef Newgarden, 2:29.468
2. Stevan McAleer, 2:30.151
3. Fabio Orsolon, 2:30.260
4. Conor Daly, 2:30.402
5. Felipe Polehtto, 2:30.600
6. Victor Carbone, 2:30.790
7. Conner De Phillippi, 2:31.092
8. Dean Patzer, 2:31.271
9. Nick Tonkin, 2:31.385
10. Ashley Freiberg, 2:31.716
11. Sean Rayhall, 2:31.827
12. Dom Bastien, 2:32.679
13. Gustavo Linares, 2:32.939
14. Lee Carpentier, 2:33.310
15. Victor Pedrosa, 2:33.379

Rick Roso

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.