Starting grid for 93rd Indianapolis 500

Sunday, May 24, 2009 Indianapolis, Ind. (May 24) – Three past National Champions highlight a group of Skip Barber trained drivers taking the green flag this afternoon for the 93rd Indianapolis 500. Of the 33 starters in this year’s race, 15 have Skip Barber Racing School ties, including past Skip Barber National Champions Ryan Hunter-Reay (1999), Raphael Matos (2003) and Marco Andretti (2004). Several other drivers, including Reay, Danica Patrick and E.J. Viso are alumni of the Barber Pro Series.

Qualifying results, 93rd Indianapolis 500, 200 laps/500 miles. (Skip Barber trained drivers in bold)
1. Helio Castroneves, Penske Racing, 224.864mph
2. Ryan Briscoe, Penske Racing, 224.083mph
3. Dario Franchitti, Target Chip Ganassi Racing, 224.010mph
4. Graham Rahal, Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing, 223.954mph
5. Scott Dixon, Target Chip Ganassi Racing, 223.867mph
6. Tony Kanaan, Andretti Green Racing, 223.612mph
7. Mario Moraes , KV Racing, 223.331mph
8. Marco Andretti, Andretti Green Racing, 223.114mph
9. Will Power, Penske Racing, 223.028mph
10. Danica Patrick, Andretti Green Racing, 222.882mph
11. Alex Lloyd, Schmidt/Ganassi Racing, 222.622mph
12. Raphael Matos, Luczo Dragon Racing, 223.429mph
13. Paul Tracy, KV Racing, 223.111mph
14. Vitor Meira, A.J. Foyt Racing, 223.054mph
15. Justin Wilson, Dale Coyne Racing, 222.903mph
16. Hideki Mutoh, Andretti Green Racing, 222.805mph
17. Ed Carpenter, Vision Racing, 222.780mph
18. Dan Wheldon, Panther Racing, 222.777mph
19. AJ Foyt, IV, A.J. Foyt Racing, 222.586mph
20. Scott Sharp, Panther Racing, 222.162mph
21. Sarah Fisher, Sarah Fisher Racing, 222.082mph
22. Davey Hamilton, Dreyer & Reinbold, 221.956mph
23. Robert Doornbos, Newman/Haas/Lanigan, 221.692mph
24. Townsend Bell, Dale Coyne Racing, 221.496mph
27. Mike Conway, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, 221.417mph
28. John Andretti, Dreyer & Reinbold/Richard Petty Racing, 221.316mph
29. EJ Viso, HVM Racing, 221.164mph
30. Milka Duno, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, 221.106mph
31. Nelson Philippe, HVM Racing, 220.754mph
32. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Vision Racing, 220.597mph
33. Alex Tagliani, Conquest Racing, 221.115mph

Jim Altemus

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.