2009-2010 Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shoot-out entry list announced

Monday, December 21, 2009 Thirty-seven drivers representing six countries and 16 States make up the final list of entrants for the 13th Annual Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shoot-out, released today by Skip Barber Racing School LLC. The Shoot-out, December 27-30 at Sebring International Raceway, will award $255,000 in scholarships in the form of prepaid seat time in Skip Barber Race Series National and Regional championships.

“While the number of entrants in this year’s Shoot-out reflects the state of change in the karting industry in 2010, the level of talent in this year’s Shoot-out is unprecedented.” said Todd Snyder, Skip Barber Racing School’s V.P. of Competition. “With the addition of a second full season in the Skip Barber National scholarship from the FIA Motor Sport Safety Development Fund, we expect this year’s Shoot-out to be our most competitive to date.”

The largest award is a pair of fully paid rides in the BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda, valued at approximately $52,000 each, courtesy of MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development and a grant for the FIA Motor Sport Safety Development Fund.

Now in its 12th year, the 2010 BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda is a 14-race championship that represents the initial step in the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development open-wheel ladder system. The Skip Barber National is the series that launched the auto racing careers of Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos and Joel Miller, plus dozens of other drivers succeeding in Indycar, NASCAR, Grand-Am, American Le Mans Series, and the SCCA. Skip Barber National drivers have won at the prestigious Formula Ford Festival and the past two Skip Barber National Champions, Conor Daly and Connor De Phillippi, have won the annual Walter Hayes Trophy.

Name, Age, Hometown
Abdul Ahmed, 25, Andover, Kan.
Neil Alberico, 17, Monte Sereno, Calif.
Gianni Alessandria, 19, Panama City, Panama
Nick Andries, 19, Pinellas Park, Fla.
Darrick Antell, 19, Greenwich, Conn.
Thomas Bonatz, 21, Birmingham, Ala.
Kyle Books, 17, Houston, Tex.
Dylan Byrnside, 22, Ardley, Ala.
Dore Chaponick, 13, Miami, Fla.
Mackenzie Clare, 14, Barrie, Ont., Canada
Ian Costa, 20, Danville, Calif.
Nicolas Costa, 18, Barra da Tijuca, Brazi
l Tristan DeGrand, 13, Eureka, Mo.
Luis Michael Dцrrbecker, 16, Queretaro, Mexico
Mark Draghicescu, 17, Beaverton, Ore.
R.C. Enerson, 13, New Port Richey, Fla.
Connor Ford, 13, Carson City, Nev.
Brady Halbasch, 22, Reno, Nev.
Trent Hindman, 14, Wayside, N.J.
Kyle Kaiser, 13, Santa Clara, Calif.
Kenton Koch, 15, Glendora, Calif.
Dillon Kranz, 23, Columbus, Wis.
Kyle Kuntze, 20, Poway, Calif.
Corey Lewis, 18, Nazareth, Penn.
Corey Neveau, 15, San Clemente, Calif.
Brandon Newey, 17, Carmel, Ind.
Tristan Nunez, 14, Boca Raton, Fla.
Sebastian Ordonez, 15, Aventura, Fla.
Spencer Pigot, 16, Windermere, Fla.
Jesus Rios, 15, Miami Beach, Fla.
Cody Robinson, 17, Kettering, Ohio
Tomas Saldana, 20, Madrid, Spain
Felix Serralles, 17, Haines City, Fla.
Mukul Sud, 24, Emeryville, Calif.
Colin Thompson, 15, Perkasie, Penn.
Dexter Tuttle, 20, Charlotte, N.C.
Matt Zeis , 22, Colombia, Mo.

Jim Altemus

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.