2010-2011 Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shoot-Out Entry List Announced

Monday, November 08, 2010
ksographicUPDATED Nov. 22, 2010

Lakeville, Connecticut (Nov. 8, 2010). Last year, thirty-six drivers
gathered to compete at Sebring International Raceway in the 13th
Annual Skip Barber Karting Shootout. Florida teens Spencer Pigot and
Felix Serralles went home with the biggest prizes of the event, both
winning scholarships to compete for the entire 2010 season of the
BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda. These
Scholarships are provided on behalf of MAZDASPEED Motorsports
Development and the FIA Motor Sport Safety Development Fund.

Other winners included Nicholas Costa with a half-season in the Skip
Barber National, and Mukul Sud and Sebastian Ordonez with full
seasons in the Skip Barber Regional Race Series.

This December, almost forty—and still counting—young aspiring race
car drivers will meet at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca to compete for
the same scholarships. During the four day competition, drivers will not
only be evaluated on their on-track performance but also how they
present themselves and effectively listen to and apply feedback.

Last year’s Shoot-Out winner Spencer Pigot went on to win the Skip
Barber National Rookie of the Year title, Skip Barber National
Championship and one of two Team USA Scholarships to compete at
the Formula Ford Festival and Walter Hayes Trophy event. The winner
of the BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda
championship is awarded a scholarship for the next highest level in a
Mazda or Mazda powered support series.

Now in its 13th year, the 2010 BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National
Presented by Mazda is a 14-race championship that represents the initial
step in the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development open-wheel
ladder system. The Skip Barber National is the series that launched the
auto racing careers of Marco Andretti, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Scott Speed,
A.J. Allmendinger and Raphael Matos, plus dozens of other drivers
succeeding in IndyCar, NASCAR, Grand-Am, American Le Mans
Series, and the SCCA.

Confirmed Entries for the 2010-2011 Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shoot-Out

Name, Age, Hometown, Most Recent Karting
Neil Alberico, 18, Monte Sereno, CA, CKI National Championship Series
Franco Aragones, 14, Cancun, Rotax Southeast Series
Nick Arrotta, 25, Greenacres, WA, National Karting Alliance
Courtney Atkinson, 17, Franklin, WI, World Karting Association
Sam Beasley, 16, Painesville, OH, Florida Winter Tour, World Karting Association
Nova Brown, 15, Venura, CA, Los Angeles Kart Club
Jorge Cevallos, Coronado, CA
Sabre Cook, 16, Grand Junction, CO, CKI National Championship Series
Ian Costa, 21, Pleasanton, CA, Kinsmen Kart Club
Nicolas Costa, 19, Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janerio, Florida Winter Tour
Logan Downing, 18, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Western Rotax
Jake Eidson, 15, Littleton, CO, SKUSA
RC Enerson , 14, New Port Richey, FL, CKI National Championship Series Danilo Estrela, 15, Long Branch, NJ
Gregory Evans, 20, Walnut Creek, CA, Jim Russell
Patrick Gallagher, 18, Thornville, OH, World Karting Association
Michael Grijalva, 19, Rough and Ready, CA, International Kart Federation, Northern California Karters
Garett Grist, 15, Brimsby, Ontario, Canadian National Karting Championship
Scott Hargrove, 15, Surrey, British Columbia
Trent Hindman, 15, Wayside, NJ, Florida Winter Tour
Andrew Hobbs, 16, Glendale, WI, TAG World Championships
Devin Jones, 15, Mooresville, NC, International Kart Federation, World Karting Association
Kyle Kaiser, 14, Santa Clara, CA, International Kart Federation
Kenton Koch, 16, Glendora, CA, International Kart Federation, So-Cal Sprinters Kart Club
Dillon Kranz, 23, Columbus, WI, Badger Kart Club
Kyle Kuntze, 21, Poway, CA, International Kart Federation, NCK Karting
Nicholas Latifi, 15, Toronto, Ontario, ASN Canada FIA Canadian National Karting Championship
Mason Marotta, 16, Carmel, CA, CKI National Championship Series
Shinya Michimi, 17, Mason, OH, World Karting Association
Jack Mitchell, 14, Clarendon Hills, IL, Rotax Junior
Sarah Montgomery, 16, Lafayette, LA, Firestone Tri-State Series
Gregory Muender, 23, San Diego, CA, Jim Hall Kart Racing
Tristan Nunez, 15, Boca Raton, Florida Winter Tour
Sebastian Ordonez, 15, Deerfield Beach, FL, Florida Winter Tour
Remo Ruscitti, 16, Burnaby, British Columbia, Stars of Karting, WSK Stefan Rzadzinski, 17, Edmonton, Alberta, CKI National Championship Series
Austin Self, 14, Austin, TX, KartSport, Florida Winter Tour
Shawn Sharkey, 16, Middletown NJ, Championship Karting International, Florida Winter Tour
Zachary Silver, 14, Hinsdale, IL, SKUSA SuperNationals
Aaron Telitz, 18, Birchwood, WI, CIK, TAG
Colin Thompson, 16, Perkaise, PA, East Coast Endurance Championship Karting Alec Udell, 14, The Woodlands, TX, Team USA Jr. Rotax
Jason Wolfe, 16, Mount Vernon, OH, Midstate Ohio Kart Club

Entry list is unofficial as entries are still being confirmed and processed.

To read more about the opportunity and rich history of the Karting Scholarship Shootout, pick up the October issue of National Kart News magazine and turn to page 38. Digital copies of this magazine are also available for viewing at <a href=””></a>.

Live updates from the event will be posted at
Keep up to date by visiting <a href=””></a> for all Skip Barber Racing School news.

Kelly Brouillet

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.