Luke Gabin Wins 2013 Skip Barber Racing School Karting Scholarship Shootout

Sebring, FL. (November 6, 2013) – Luke Gabin, 19, from Perth, Casuarina, Australia was crowned the  Champion of the 2013 Skip Barber Racing School Karting Scholarship Shootout. Luke’s globe trotting trip was well-worth the effort as he can now count himself as the 17th Champion to join the ranks of elite racers like Ryan Hunter-Reay, AJ Allmendinger, Alexander Rossi, Conor De Phillippi and Spencer Pigot — who in their early days of racing all competed for the highly coveted prize.

“The shootout has been the highlight of my Motorsports career and I am extremely glad I have been given this opportunity by Skip Barber Racing School and my parents. It was a steep learning curve, but taking feedback from experienced instructors and applying it was very rewarding. The shootout was extremely competitive and I’m looking forward to competing in a season of Skip Barber,” said Gabin.

As in every year since it’s inception, the champion of the Karting Shootout will win a full season in the Skip Barber Racing School 2013-2014 Winter Race Series or Summer Race series, which leads to the first step on the Mazda Road to Indy. Skip Barber Racing School is the official racing school of INDYCAR.

“On behalf of the instructors and team at Skip Barber Racing School, I would like to congratulate Luke on his performance in the 2013 Karting Shootout. Luke came out on top of a very impressive field of racers, and we look forward to working with him in 2014 as he continues on the path to achieve his goals in professional racing.” says Michael Culver, CEO of Skip Barber Racing School.

Gabin developed a feel for the Skip Barber Formula 2000 cars and posted consistent session averages and earned the highest instructor score from the group.

2013 Skip Barber Racing School Karting Scholarship Shootout Final standings:
(Driver name, shootout points, award*)

1st Place – Luke Gabin, 221.4, A full season in the Skip Barber Racing School 2012-2013 Winter Race Series or Summer Race series
2nd Place – Olivier Cote, 206.30, $15,000 in Skip Barber Race Series Scholarship
3rd Place – Brennen Harrington, 196, $10,000 in Skip Barber Race Series Scholarship
4th Place – Daniel Langon, 188.8
5th Place – Kondrad Czaczyk, 184.8
6. Skylar Dunning , 170.1
7. Nolan Ryan, 168.3
8. Travis Lowe, 164
9. Jonathan Sugianto, 164.8
10.Nathan Laverdure, 154.7
11. Scott Huffaker, 151.6
12. Mike Gutenberger, 137.7
13. Christian Brooks, 134.7
14. Whitney Stevenson, 113.8
15. Jonathan de Matta, 113.4
16. Jackie Ding
17. Sabre Cook
18. Garrett Dixon
19. Jenna Johnson
20. Mahatru Krishnamuthy
21. Austin Mack

*All scholarships funds are spread out over each race event throughout the course of the 2014 season, and cannot be applied to only a few select events. Prizes are non-transferable and the awards are subject to event rules, available on our website.


Drive. Race. Win.

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.