Karts To Cars Scholarship Winner Luke Gabin Sweeps Weekend With Two Wins

Braselton, GA. (July 15, 2014) – It was an exhilarating week in Salisbury, Conn. as Skip Barber Summer Series Racers took to Lime Rock Park to compete in rounds 7 & 8 of the 2014 Formula Summer Series.
In Group 1, Race 1, Karts to Cars Scholarship champion Luke Gabin showcased his talent picking up seven spots after a poor qualifying round. Gabin would later take home the top spot in the race. Ben Auriemma finished second and Nikita Lastochkin took third picking up eight spots.
In the second race for Group 1, Luke Gabin continued his race weekend streak by picking up up another win against a strong field. Ben Auriemma and Nikita Lastochkin rounded out the group with a second and third place finish.
In Group 2, IndyCar Academy winner Michai Stephens had a strong qualifying session which set him up for pole in the first Race. Stephens would hold the position for 26 laps to hold the top spot. Rookie Jorge Herrera kept pace with the group to take home second while Ben Auriemma rounded out the podium with a third place finish. 
In Race 2 for Group 2, Ben Auriemma didn’t waste anytime showcasing his competitive talents and picked up 6 spots to get the first place podium for the race. Nikita Lastochkin rounded out second and Grand Master Jeffrey Stern took home third.  2013 IndyCar Academy winner Michai Stephens opted to sit out of the race after an accident in the qualifying session.
Championship Point Standings – Formula Skip Barber

  1. Luke Gabin – R 175
  2. Ben Auriemma 172
  3. Michai Stevens – R 161
  4. Nikita Lastochkin 159
  5. Jorge Herrera – R 146
  6. Jackie Ding  143
  7. Tyler Schramm 142
  8. Jeffrey Stern 140
  9. Gus Doppes  135
  10. Bill Shields 130

Master’s Point Standings – Formula Skip Barber

  1. Gus Doppes – GM 242
  2. Pat Daly – GM 243
  3. Jeffrey Stern – GM 237
  4. Bill Shields – GM 226
  5. Brian Cook – M 170
  6. Chris Brassard – GM 157
  7. Gary Vizoli 153
  8. Quentin Wahl – GM 116
  9. Amos Givol – GM 98
  10. John Schauerman – GM 57

About Skip Barber Racing School Race Series

For 39 years, Skip Barber Racing School LLC, has been the leader in training motorsport legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsport scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Josef Newgarden, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Spencer Pigot and many more.

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.