2014 Skip Barber Racing School Karts to Cars Scholarship Shootout Field Announced

Braselton, GA — (Oct. 15,2014)  The field is nearly set for the 19th Annual Skip Barber Racing School Karts to Cars Scholarship Shootout. The competition, which takes place on October 28-30, 2014 at iconic Sebring International Raceway, will host the best karters from around the world.”.

The Champion of the 2014 Karts to Cars Scholarship Shootout will be awarded a full season in the 2014-2015 Skip Barber Winter Series or the 2015 Skip Barber Summer Series, as well as a 3 Day Program Extensive Evaluation from RaceCraft1. In addition to the scholarship valued at more than $40,000, the Champion will be featured in a future issue of RACER magazine as the winner of the “Top Gun Award”.

“This is the most comprehensive prize package for talented karters,” says Skip Barber Racing School CEO Michael Culver. “We value the tradition of giving talented individuals an opportunity to pursue their dreams and launch their motorsports career. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Josef Newgarden and many others started their driving careers in this program. We can’t wait to see who will come out on top this year!”

The second-place competitor will win a $15,000 Skip Barber Race Series scholarship and a 1 Day Program Race Event Preparation from RaceCraft1 and the third-place winner will receive a $10,000 Skip Barber Race Series scholarship and Consultation on Training, Simulation Equipment from RaceCraft1.

This year’s candidates include:


Name Age City State / Country
Carson Kapica 16 Katonah NY, USA
Nathan Laverdure 20 Berlin MA, USA
Lindsay Brewer 18 Arvada CO, USA
Konrad Czaczyk 18 Loxahatchee FL, USA
Henry Morse 14 Redondo Beach CA, USA
Michael Benyahia 14 Miami FL, USA
Michael d’Orlando 13 Hartsdale NY, USA
Lucca Abreu 16 Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais MG Brazil
Davin Foster 17 Saratoga CA, USA
Braden Eves 15 Gahanna OH, USA
Cabot Bigham 18 Weston MA, USA
Dakota Dickerson 18 San Diego CA, USA
Neil Verhagen 14 Moorseville NC, USA
Max Nufer 15 Wildwood MO, USA
Everett Thomas 18 Covington LA, USA
Daniel de la Calle 18 Burlingame CA, USA


The Karts to Cars Scholarship Shootout will be the first of three scholarship Shootouts for Skip Barber Racing School.  

The Skip Barber INDYCAR Academy Shootout where racing hopefuls will test their determination, passion and talent on the track at iconic Sebring International Raceway will be held on December 15 -17, 2014. The field of 33 drivers will have ZERO racing experience, but a podium finish will open the doors. Winners will have the opportunity to race with the Skip Barber Racing School Summer or Winter Series. The winner will will have a fully-funded season to showcase their talent amongst other seasoned racers. This past year’s winner, Michai Stephens, did just that and is currently racing in England representing the United States with TEAM USA Scholarship. 

The Skip Barber Championship Shootout will be held at Road Atlanta on November 10-12, 2014 and will have the biggest purse for a shootout this year. With more than $200,000 in scholarship prizes, the contenders will be the top 5 racers of the Winter and Summer Race Series will have their eyes on the prize. Additionally, individuals who raced in the series, will have an option to race in the Championship Shootout with a $6,000 entry fee. Last year’s winner, Aaron Telitz, will also travel to England with INDYCAR Academy Winner Michai Stephens to compete in the traditional Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch on October 25-26 and Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone on November 1-2, 2014.

About Skip Barber Racing School

For 40 years, Skip Barber Racing School has been the leader in training motorsports legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsports scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, Sergio Perez, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Josef Newgarden, Spencer Pigot and many more. For more information, please visit






800.221.1131 | SKIPBARBER.COM | [email protected] |


Official Racing School of the Verizon IndyCar Series


Official Racing School of Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tire


Official Racing School of the Mazda Road to Indy



Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.