Where are they now? Catching up with 2013 Skip Barber Racing School Shootout Champs



Where are they now? Catching up with 2013 Skip Barber Racing School Shootout Champs

Debbie Ebalobo
[email protected]


Braselton, Ga. (Oct. 22, 2014) — As Skip Barber Racing School gears up for this year’s much anticipated scholarship shootouts at Sebring International Raceway and Road Atlanta, the company would like to recognize last year’s scholarship winners as all three have demonstrated that their respective wins were much deserved.


Aaron Telitz, pictured here with Skip Barber Racing School CEO Michael Culver (left) and Race Series Director Keith Dalton (left) wins the 2013 Skip Barber Race Series Championship Shootout.

The first shootout is the iconic Karts to Cars Scholarship Shootout which will be held this year at Sebring, Florida October 28 – 30, 2014. The unique program allows Karters to transition from Karts to Cars with the help of legendary Skip Barber instructors. Participants will learn how their skills can translate into Skip Barber Formula 2000 race cars. Winners of the competition not only demonstrate tremendous skill and effort on the track, but also prove that they have the potential to grow as a race car driver. The winner of last year’s competition was Australian racer Luke Gabin.  

Michai Stephens triumphed over 32 other drivers from around the world at the second annual Skip Barber Academy Shootout at Sebring International Raceway.

Luke Gabin maximized his scholarship winnings which included a fully paid Skip Barber Series season and recently won the 2014 Skip Barber Summer Series. Gabin will now have the opportunity to test what he has learned from the year in November for the much anticipated Skip Barber Racing School Championship Shootout (“CSO”). The winner of the Championship Shootout will win a $200,000 scholarship to compete in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Series powered by Mazda. The top 5 finishers in either the Summer or Winter Series earn a spot to compete in the shootout.

The Champion of the 2013 Skip Barber INDYCAR Academy Scholarship Shootout (“ICA”), showed that perseverance and commitment can prevail. After failing to podium in the first annual ICA shootout, Michai Stephens returned last year and garnered the fasted lap times as well as the overall championship. Stephens earned a fully funded ride into the Skip Barber Racing School Race Series. Since his win, Stephens has had a spectacular year in racing. He was a major player in the 2014 Skip Barber Summer Series, consistently delivering great performances which prepared him to secure a spot as a representative for the 2014 Team USA Scholarship Shootout. Due to his selection as a TEAM USA Scholarship driver, Stephens would miss the Summer Series finale, however he will return to test his skills in the 2014 Championship Shootout.

2014 Skip Barber Summer Series winner Luke Gabin displaying confidence after a formula win.

In last year’s Championship Shootout, veteran racer Aaron Telitz bought into the program after racing a minimum of four race weekends in the previous race series season. Telitz would finish the shootout victoriously. The highly desired purse for the shootout was a $200,000 scholarship prize to attend the next run in the Mazda Road to Indy – USF2000. Telitz competed in the 2014 USF2000 Championship powered by Mazda with the scholarship award. His participation ended in more success as he brought home a victory and six podium finishes in the season. Additionally, Telitz was also selected to represent the 2014 Team USA Scholarship in the upcoming Formula Ford Festival and Walter Hayes Trophy events in England.

Other notable alumni who have showcased Skip Barber Racing School’s sucess in training champions include the following:

  • Ryan Hunter-Reay – Indianapolis 500 Champion
  • Gabby Chavez – Indy Lights Champion
  • Spencer Pigot – Pro Mazda Champion

About Skip Barber Racing School

For 40 years, Skip Barber Racing School has been the leader in training motorsports legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsports scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, Sergio Perez, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Josef Newgarden, Spencer Pigot and many more. For more information, please visit




800.221.1131 | SKIPBARBER.COM | [email protected] |


Official Racing School of the Verizon IndyCar Series


Official Racing School of Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tire


Official Racing School of the Mazda Road to Indy




Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.