The 2014 Skip Barber Championship Shootout Kicks Off at Road Atlanta

The 2014 Skip Barber Championship Shootout Kicks Off at Road Atlanta

 Racers Compete for $200,000 Scholarship Grand Prize and Entry into the Cooper Tires USF2000 Series powered by Mazda


Braselton, GA (Nov. 10. 2014) The 2014 Skip Barber Championship Shootout is here and the top Skip Barber Racers from the year will compete in the ultimate racing shootout. The event will take place at Road Atlanta beginning today and ending on November 12, 2014.

The top 5 racers from the 2014 Skip Barber Summer Series and the top 5 from the past Skip Barber Winter Series have earned a free entry into the event and will compete alongside other racers for the grand prize of $200,000 in scholarship money and entry into the Cooper Tires USF2000 Series powered by Mazda.

“This is a great opportunity for the most successful Skip Barber racers to test their skills  and what they have learned in a year in a new environment,” said Jeff Lail, Skip Barber’s Race Series Coordinator. “We cannot wait to see the progress as well as the talent that will be on track this week. It’s going to be a great event.”

Australian karter Luke Gabin, will be a strong contender for the shootout after recently winning the 2014 Skip Barber Summer Series. Gabin also has experienced success in past Skip Barber shootout events, taking first place in the 2013 Karts to Cars Scholarship Shootout. Gabin’s on a hot streak and will be a force to be reckoned with for other racers. Gabin will have a tough road ahead of him, with other racers also vying for the championship win. IndyCar Academy Champion and TEAM USA Scholarship winner Michai Stephens will also be at the shootout after a brief tour in Europe where he placed 3rd at the Walter Hayes Trophy Formula  in Silverstone. Stephens racing abroad will surely help his confidence heading into the shootout. Alongside Michai will be Nikita Lastochkin who placed 3rd in the Summer Series.

The full roster of racers competing in the 2014 Skip Barber Championship Shootout:

  • Garth Rickards
  • Jack Mitchel Jr.
  • Brandon Angel
  • Jorge Herrera
  • Matthew Donmoyer
  • Ben Auriemma
  • Luke gabin
  • Ben Auriemma
  • Nikita Lastochkin
  • Jackie Ding
  • Michai Stephens

The Championship Shootout schedule:

Day 1 (November 10, 2014)

  • 9:45 a.m. Kelly Jones Racecraft 1 Seminar
  • 1:00 p.m. Practice 1
  • 2:15 p.m. Practice 2
  • 3:45 p.m. Qualifying 12 minutes

Day 2 (November 11, 2014)

  • 9:00 a.m. Race 1, 12 laps
  • 10:15 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. Driver interviews with Bob Varsha and Barbara Burns
  • 1:00 p.m. Race 2, 12 laps
  • 2:30 p.m. Bob Varsha and Barbara Burns Seminar
  • 4:00 p.m. Race 3, 12 laps

Day 3 (November 12, 2014)

  • 9:00 a.m. Race 4, 12 laps
  • 10:30 a.m. Dave Despain Seminar
  • 12:50 p.m. Race 5, 12 laps
  • 2:00 p.m. Award presentation

If you’d like to be part of next year’s championship shootout, now is the perfect time to hop in Skip Barber Racing in the 2014-2015 Winter Series, where the top 5 racers will gain free entry in the 2015 Championship Shootout!

About Skip Barber Racing School

For 40 years, Skip Barber Racing School has been the leader in training motorsports legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsports scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, Sergio Perez, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Josef Newgarden, Spencer Pigot and many more. For more information, please visit



Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.