Luke Gabin Crowned the 2014 Championship Shootout Winner, Wins $200,000 Scholarship

Braselton, GA (November 12, 2014) After three intense days of competition, five races, media interviews and instructor evaluations, a new champion has been crowned for the 2014 Skip Barber Championship Scholarship Shootout.

2013 Karts to Cars Scholarship Champion Luke Gabin from Australia is the new champion for of the 2014 Skip Barber Championship Scholarship Shootout.  As champion, he will receive a prize of $200,000 from Mazda Motorsports to move into USF2000.

This year’s shootout proved to be nothing short of exhilarating. The first four races of the event had a different winner proving that the talent for the shootout was unparalleled. Racers from Australia, United States, Mexico and China were present for the event that spanned three days. Entering the last race of the day, only 3 point separated INDYCAR Academy champion Michai Stephens and Karts to Cars Scholarship Champion Luke Gabin. Gabin needed a first place finish to secure the coveted top spot and he did. In the last lap, Gabin was able to cross the finish line in first passing Jorge Herrera to secure the championship.

“This is a culmination of a year dedicated to training and determination for these young men,” said Skip Barber CEO Michael Culver. “These will be the next stars in racing and whether they choose a career in open-wheel or sports car, they have created a foundation that will take them far. We are excited for Gabin’s much deserved win, but moreover, for the entire group’s dedication to becoming better drivers. This is only the beginning and we are honored to be part of their start into greatness.”

Championship Shootout – Overall Top 5

  1. Luke Gabin
  2. Michai Stephens
  3. Jack Mitchell Jr.
  4. Jorge Herrera
  5. Nikita Lastochkin

In addition to the $200,000 scholarship presented Mazda, Gabin will also receive a RACER Magazine feature that highlighting his many accomplishments and his plans for the future.

The top 3 will also be awarded a prize from RaceCraft1 for driving simulation training.

About Skip Barber Racing School

For 40 years, Skip Barber Racing School has been the leader in training motorsports legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsports scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, Sergio Perez, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Josef Newgarden, Spencer Pigot and many more. For more information, please visit



800.221.1131 | SKIPBARBER.COM | [email protected] |

 Official Racing School of the Verizon IndyCar Series

 Official Racing School of Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tire

 Official Racing School of the Mazda Road to Indy

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.