Skip Barber Racing School Gears Up for 2014 INDYCAR Academy


Braselton, GA (Nov. 12. 2015) The field for the 2014 Skip Barber INDYCAR Academy is set and ready to test their racing skills in the final Skip Barber Racing School Formula SB 2000 scholarship program of the year.

The 3rd Annual Skip Barber Racing School INDYCAR Academy will meet at Sebring International Raceway on Dec. 15-17, 2014. This is a truly unique platform in the motorsport industry which is designed for enthusiasts without prior racing experience to pursue their dreams of becoming professional race car drivers.  This elite academy provides each candidate access to training, coaching and track time creating an even playing field for all participants.

Candidates of the INDYCAR Academy attended a Skip Barber 3 Day Formula Racing School and Advanced 2 Day Racing School. After each program, Skip Barber Instructors scored and ranked each candidate’s performance in the programs. The top racers were chosen to compete in the shootout.

“This is one of our most exciting events of the year,’ said Keith Dalton, Director, Competition. “These are the top participants in our signature 3-Day Racing School and they have been hand-picked by our senior instructors. These three days of competition will be nothing short of exhilarating. We can’t wait to see who will come out on top!”

Racers from across the country will meet at Sebring International Raceway on Dec. 15-17, 2014 to compete for the grand prize of a full paid season in the Skip Barber Racing Series. Other Skip Barber Scholarship prizes include a $15,000 scholarship for 2nd place and a $10,000 scholarship for 3rd place.

RaceCraft1 and RACER Magazine will also be awarding prizes to the winners of the competition. The winner will be featured in future issue of RACER Magazine as the winner of the “Top Gun Award.”

2013 INDYCAR Academy Champion Michai Stephens used his championship winnings to partake in the Skip Barber Racing School Summer Series and was chosen to travel to Europe to represent the 2014 Team USA Scholarship in the traditional Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch and Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone. Stephens placed third in Silverstone competing against the top young drivers in the world. “Michai’s success with essentially one year of racing speaks volumes to the strength of the Skip Barber Racing School model” said Michael Culver, CEO.


The full roster of racers competing in the 2014 Skip Barber Championship Shootout:


  • Jordan Ward

  • Chase Owen

  • Oscar Valenzuela

  • Anthony Touset

  • Paul Torres

  • Erich Wilhelm

  • Bryan Saxe

  • Philip Weary

  • David Porcelli

  • Charles Streicher

  • Scott Weisensee

  • Justin Phillippe

  • Matt Widner

  • Bill Mallon

  • Benjamin Waddell

  • Cristian Ruiz

  • Miguel Rivera

  • Kevin Sutherland

  • Christopher Bradley

  • Vivek Reddy

  • Ronald Castillo

  • Andre Millette

  • Kyle Masson

  • Robert Masson

  • Justin Flood

  • Todd Stevens

  • Michael Marett

  • Louie Alonzi


About Skip Barber Racing School

For 40 years, Skip Barber Racing School has been the leader in training motorsports legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsports scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, Sergio Perez, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Josef Newgarden, Spencer Pigot and many more. For more information, please visit



# # #


800.221.1131 | SKIPBARBER.COM | [email protected] |

Official Racing School of the Verizon IndyCar Series

Official Racing School of Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires

Official Racing School of the Mazda Road to Indy

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.