Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile of the Americas Chooses Skip Barber Racing School Alumni Bryan Herta To Receive FIA Americas Award For His Racing Career 


Debbie Ebalobo
[email protected]

Bryan Herta with Skip Barber CEO Michael Culver
Bryan Herta with Skip Barber CEO Michael Culver

Braselton, GA (January 17, 2015)— The Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile of the Americas invited Skip Barber Racing School to nominate an American racer for the FIA Americas Trophy.  This year, Skip Barber Racing School nominated alumnus Bryan Herta for the award. Herta will  travel to Panama City, Panama on January 17, 2015 to accept the award FIA Americas award.

The FIA Americas Awards Gala is the prize giving ceremony for the FIA Americas countries. Established since 2008, and with at least 29 Countries represented, each country presents both national and continental champions for the awards. The ceremonies also attract the most celebrated personalities in mobility and road safety.

“We are excited for the opportunity to highlight an outstanding race car driver and team owner in Bryan Herta,” said Skip Barber CEO Michael Culver. “He is an exceptional individual who possesses admirable traits of perseverance, passion and determination. He continues to influence the motorsports world and will do so for a very long time. Bryan is very deserving of this award and we’re thrilled for him.”

Bryan Herta began his racing career in 1990 in the Skip Barber Formula Ford and the Barber Saab Pro Series. He won in each Skip Barber Series race category. After winning the Barber Saab Pro Series and Indy Lights Championship in 1993, Herta moved on to compete full time in IndyCar. Herta’s success as a driver has made him one of the most recognizable names in motorsports. David Letterman referred to the phenomena as “Hertamania!” Herta raced in the Indy 500 five times with three top ten finishes and was third in 2005. Bryan Herta now owns his team, Bryan Herta Autosport competing in the Verizon IndyCar Series and occasionally in the Firestone Indy Lights Series. Bryan Herta Autosport won the Indianapolis 500 in 2011 with driver Dan Wheldon.

About Skip Barber Racing School 

For 40 years, Skip Barber Racing School, has been the leader in training motorsport legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsport scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Spencer Pigot and many more. Skip Barber Racing Shool is the Official Racing School of the IZOD IndyCar Series and the first step on the Mazda Road to Indy. In 2014 Kenton Koch was selected to represent the Americas at the FIA Young Driver Excellence Academy. Skip Barber Racing School is an FIA Institute accredited Regional Training Provider for Young Drivers, the Official Racing School of the Verizon IndyCar Series and the first step on the Mazda Road to Indy.



800.221.1131 | SKIPBARBER.COM | [email protected] |

Official Racing School of the Verizon IndyCar Series

Official Racing School of Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires

Official Racing School of the Mazda Road to Indy









Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.