Team USA Scholarship

Braselton, Ga. (August 10, 2015) — This year, Skip Barber Racing School has nominated Dakota Dickerson, Chase Owen and Timo Reger for the 2015 Team USA Scholarship Shootout. These racers, if chosen to represent the United States  will be awarded fully paid entries for the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch on October 24-25 and and the fast-emerging Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone on October 31-November 1, 2015 at the United Kingdom.

Skip Barber Racing School racers have had a high success rate at the Team USA Shootout. Previous winners include Bryan Herta, A.J. Allmendinger, Conor Daly, Josef Newgarden, Aaron Telitz, and Machai Stevens. There are high hopes for this year’s candidates.

The Team USA Scholarship is the perfect opportunity for any young American racer to progress up the racing ladder and to gain international recognition.  It provides young drivers the chance to compete against the world’s best.

Dakota Dickerson was awarded the 2014 Bryan Herta Career Enhancement Scholarship.  Dickerson won 2nd place in the Karts to Cars Scholarship Shootout. Dickerson is currently enrolled in the Skip Barber Racing School Summer Series where he is battling for the top spot with the other Team USA Scholarship participants from Skip Barber Racing School – Chase Owen and Timor Reger.

Chase Owen won the Skip Barber 2014 INDYCAR Academy Shootout.  He is working on building his momentum by racing the Skip Barber Racing School Summer Series with an impressive 68 points for the series opener.

Moving from club racing, Reger and his family love motorsports. He honed his skills prior to Skip Barber Racing School by racing with his brother, Nikko Reger, who also competes in the Skip Barber MAZDASPEED Pro Challenge. This past year, Timo began racing in the Skip Barber Winter Series and won the title in decisive fashion. Reger is using his prize winnings to compete in the current Skip Barber Racing School Summer Series and is currently leading the points standings.

The nomination of these three talented racers is proof that Skip Barber Racing School’s integrated system works. Three champions who are looking to battle against other driver’s across the country for the coveted TEAM USA Scholarship title.

About Skip Barber Racing School

 For 40 years, Skip Barber Racing School, has been the leader in training motorsport legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsport scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Spencer Pigot and many more. Skip Barber Racing School is the Official Racing School of the Verizon IndyCar Series and the first step on the Mazda Road to Indy. In 2014 Kenton Koch was selected to represent the Americas at the FIA Young Driver Excellence Academy. Skip Barber Racing School is an FIA Institute accredited Regional Training Provider for Young Drivers, the Official Racing School of the Verizon IndyCar Series and the first step on the Mazda Road

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.