The 2015 Skip Barber Championship Shootout Kicks Off at Road Atlanta

Braselton, Ga. (November 16, 2015)—The 2015 Skip Barber Championship Shootout kicks off today at Road Atlanta and the top Skip Barber Racing School racers from the Winter and Summer Series will compete in the pinnacle shootout for the Skip Barber Racing School system.  Racers will put their training to the test in one of the most rigorous events of the year. They will be tested on their business acumen, race craft and media skills in the three-day event.

The top 5 racers from the 2015 Skip Barber Summer Series and the top 5 from the 2014-2015 Skip Barber Winter Series have earned a free entry into the event and will compete alongside other racers for the grand prize of $200,000 in scholarship money from Mazda to move up the ladder into the Cooper Tires USF2000 Series powered by Mazda.

2014 Skip Barber Championship Shootout winner Luke Gabin earned a $200,000 MAZDASPEED scholarship for the 2015 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda.  He earned entry to the shootout by winning the Skip Barber Summer Series championship with seven victories and ten podium finishes.  He entered the Summer Series with his winning from the 2013 Skip Barber Karts to Cars Scholarship Shootout. Gabin placed 6th in the 2015 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda.

The full roster of racers competing in the 2015 Skip Barber Championship Shootout:

  • Timo Reger

  • Jeff Stern

  • Neil Verhagen

  • Jonathan Sugianto

  • Konrad Czachyk

  • Chase Owen

  • Dakota Dickerson

  • Jorge Herrera

  • Daniel De La Calle

  • David Porcelli

Racers will have a full day of sessions begnning today. The schedule is below:

Day 1

  • 9:30 am Registration/weigh-in/Welcome
  • 9:45 am Bryan Sellers Discussion
  • 11:30 am – 12:30 pm Lunch
  • 12:30 pm Car selection/driver’s meeting
  • 1:00 pm Practice 1
  • 2:00 pm Car selections
  • 2:15 pm Practice 2
  • 3:30 pm Car selections
  • 3:45 pm Qualifying (format TBA)
  • 4:45 pm Debrief/Closing Day 1

Day 2

  • 8:00 am-8:20 am Arrival
  • 8:30 am Driver’s Meeting followed by car selections for Race 1
  • 9:00 am Race (1) 12 laps
  • 10:15 am – 11:45 am DriverInterviews with Jamie Howe
  • 12:00 pm-12:45 pm Lunch
  • 12:45 pm Driver’s Meeting and car selections for Race 2
  • 1:00 pm Race (2) 12 laps
  • 2:00 pm Skip Barber Driver Development Seminar hosted by Jonathan Hadaya
  • 3:30 pm Driver’s Meeting and car selections for Race 3
  • 4:00 pm Race (3) 12 laps
  • 4:30pm Closing/debrief Day 2

Day 3 

  • 8:00 am-8:20 am Arrival
  • 8:30 am Driver’s Meeting followed by car selections
  • 9:00 am Race (4) 12 laps
  • 11:00 am Car selection
  • 11:30 am Race (5) 12 laps
  • 1:00 pm Award Presentation

If you’d like to be part of next year’s championship shootout, now is the perfect time to hop in Skip Barber Racing in the 2015-2016 Winter Series, where the top 5 racers will gain free entry in the 2016 Championship Shootout!

The 2015-2016 Winter Series will travel to 6 tracks with the prizes of more than $150,000 on the line. The series champion will win the opportunity to race in the 2016 Skip Barber Championship Series. The series includes a total of 12 races starting in November throughout April.  This will help racers launch their racing careers with media exposure, expert coaching, on-track-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsports scholarships. Prices are listed below:

A La Carte Pricing

  • Lapping (Day 1) $1,350.00

  • Lapping $1,550.00

  • Practice $1,750.00

  • Race Weekend $3,900.00

  • Lead/Follow Lapping $1,600.00

Call 800.221.1131 to start your racing career today!


About the Skip Barber Racing School
For 40 years, Skip Barber Racing School operates a fully integrated system of racing schools, driving schools, racing championships, corporate events and special projects across North America. No other organization delivers such a combination of high quality instruction, equipment, facilities and memorable experiences. Skip Barber Racing School is the leader in training motorsport legends of the future through entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive-and-drive experience, financial awards and motorsport scholarships. Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, John Edwards, Conor Daly, Josef Newgarden, Spencer Pigot and many more.


Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.