Skip Barber Formula Race Series – Round 1

The 2020 Skip Barber Formula Race Series kicked off this week at New Jersey Motorsports Park. Skip Barber eRace Series contenders Johnny Guindi and Sven de Vries found their way to the top of the podium, while Skip Barber rookie Ethan Ho took second in both races.

Race 1

Race 1 featured Skip Barber eRace Series champion Johnny Guindi on the pole with eRace rival Sven de Vries starting in P2. On a great start, Sven de Vries jumped ahead to take the lead from Guindi, with Nathan Saxon holding 3rd. On lap 3 Guindi put a move on de Vries heading in to turn 7 and was able to claim the lead.

Ethan Ho was quick to capitalize on passing opportunities to find his way up to second after qualifying fifth for the race. Ethan put on a clinic of how to hold a position with Nathan Saxon keeping the pressure on him until the checkered flag. Ho was able to thwart off the pressure from Saxon and finish second with Saxon right behind.

In his first time racing a formula car, Sajady finished 4th place after starting 8th. Tommy Cadwalader came in 5th with Kirk Weatherman taking 6th.


Race 2

After an early retirement in Race 1, Sven de Vries would go to qualify P1 in Race 2, forcing Johnny Guindi to the outside lane. With another great start, de Vries jumped ahead of Guindi and was able to secure first where he would stay until the checkered flag. Behind him, the battle for the remaining spots on the podium was fierce.

A battle between Guindi, Ho and Saxon for second would see Ho out brake Guindi in Turn 1 to take second. Guindi was able to hold of Saxon, maintaining third and taking the lead in the Championship. Nathan Saxon finished 4th, Ira Nesbitt came in 5th and Kirk Weatherman finished 6th.


Next round we return to New Jersey Motorsports Park on September 10th and 11th.

Race Results

Championship Standings

Have questions?
Contact Us

Send us your information and we’ll
contact you as soon as possible.